[[tasty & gluten free]]


Yummy Winter Soup

Sorry for the lack of updates lately. I’ve been sick as a dog for like 2-3 weeks, which hasn’t made me feel like cooking a lot of yummy foods. There have been a couple good meals at the boyfriends which he cooked for me (he makes a fabulous omelet) but besides that my food choices have been very uninspired.

However, with another winter storm raging outside, I decided tonight to make my very favourite thing to eat when I’m sick. The basic recipes is very simple:

  • one can petite diced tomatoes (I love Aylmer’s Spicy)
  • 1/2 cup (or so) vegetable broth (low sodium best in this case)

Simple, right? Basically you combine the canned tomatoes and vegetable broth in either a sauce pan or in a microwave safe bow and heat until it’s as warm as you like it. Tonight I felt like getting creative though and along with the tomatoes and broth, I added about half a cup of spinach and cooked it in the microwave. In a frying pan, I cooked up chopped bell peppers and zucchini in vegetable broth until tender. Adding the cooked vegetables in with the tomato soup base, I cooked in the microwave for another 2 minutes and viola:

favorite-soup2

favorite-soup1

I have to say this is one of my most favorite things to eat, sick or not. The tomatoes have a great spice to them, and adding the extra vegetables made it even more delicious and filling. Just what you need on a night when the weather is frightful and chilly. This is definitely going to be a recipe I’ll be repeating again and again. Tasty, quick and relatively healthy. What more can you ask for?


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment